Erik Erikson

Erik Erikson
Erik Erikson

Erik Erikson (June 15, 1902 – May 12, 1994) was a prominent psychologist and psychoanalyst.  He trained in psychoanalysis at the Vienna Psychoanalytic Institute and also studied the Montessori method.

He developed a theory of Psychosocial Development with 8 stages that bear a remarkable intellectual debt to the 4 Planes of development.  I encourage you to take a few minutes to read this brief summary of the stages outlined below, and compare to these to the 4 Planes.

Birth to 18 months            Infancy

18 months to 3 years       Early Childhood

3 to 6 years                          Play Age

6 to 12 years                        School Age

12-18 years                          Adolescence

19-35 years                          Young Adulthood

35-65 years                         Middle Adulthood

65+                                         Late Adulthood

Dr. Montessori influenced many of the great psychologists who came after her, most notably Erikson and Piaget.  In the interests of being well informed about the field of psychology and making connections to Montessori’s work, please take a look.


One thought on “Erik Erikson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s