Dr. Steve Hughes, Montessori Speaker

Dr. Steve Hughes

Dr. Steve Hughes is imminently qualified as a scientist to evaluate the Montessori Method.  His credentials include a PhD, LP (Licensed Psychologist), ABPdN (member of the American Board of Pediatric Neuropsychology). He serves as Director of Education and Research for The TOVA Company, and as an assistant professor of pediatrics and neurology at the University of Minnesota Medical School.
Although I doubt Dr. Hughes will remember, I met him in 2004 when I was working as an assistant at Highland Park Montessori in St. Paul, Minnesota.  Dr. Hughes was just another parent, though I remember meeting him because he was delivering a case of honey jars for a school fundraiser.  The honey was the product of his own apiary, and I thought that was pretty cool.
A year later I attended a workshop at Oakhill Montessori presented by Dr Hughes entitled “Your Capable Child”.  I was impressed with his expert knowledge and comfortable speaking style.  He was a featured speaker at the 2008 AMI-USA Refresher Course in Atlanta, Georgia and I am very sorry that I missed his speech.
Dr. Hughes has developed several presentations for Montessori schools and parents, and these are described in detail on website.  I invite you to take a few moments to look at his site, you might want to consider bringing him to your school.
Leave a Reply

